Special visa arrangements for non-CARICOM visitors to ICC World Twenty/20

Published on Tuesday, April 20, 2010 PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad -- The ICC World Twenty 20 2010 Tournament will be held April 30 to May 16, 2010.

Barbados, Guyana, St Kitts and Nevis and St Lucia will be hosting matches while Antigua and Trinidad and Tobago will be 'Hub' countries facilitating travel connections to 'Host' Countries. Cricket Fans visiting the Region to attend the Tournament will experience hassle free travel through and into these Participating 'Hub and Host' Countries.

A Memorandum of Understanding on Immigration Arrangements for the ICC World Twenty 20 2010 Championships (MOU) establishing the arrangements came into force 10 April 2010.

Under the MOU, Participating Countries have agreed to allow Non-CARICOM Nationals who obtain a National Visa from any one of the Participating Countries, to travel to any of the other Participating Countries using the same Visa.

Also, sensitive to the need for free movement by visiting Teams, Tournament Officials, accredited Media, Suppliers and Sponsors (TOMS), Participating Countries have agreed to institute an entry permit regime for TOMS similar to the CARICOM Visa Regime that existed during the hosting of Cricket World Cup 2007 (CWC 2007). The CARICOM Entry Permit will allow the holder multiple entries into the six Participating Countries during the period of the tournament.

The National Visa and CARICOM Entry Permit arrangements will only be effective during the period April 10, 2010 to May 24, 2010.

The MOU does not affect persons who do not require a National Visa to enter a Participating Country.

These temporary immigration arrangements are buttressed by special regional and national security strategies and plans, geared to ensuring a safe and secure Tournament.